Ships of Harmony

Pending publishing from

As a communications major, I am also listening to what people do not say via their non-verbal cues. Body language, special proximity, facial expressions, simple gestures and even a touch can give a deeper meaning into real truths of a conversation. My thoughts are loud through my wrinkled forehead, clinched teeth or half curled top lip. For example, I do not have a default or poker face. Let us not forget the eyes like laser beams that burn every hidden agenda. I realized so often I am saying more than my mouth is talking and my silence is not as sweet as it should be without words. Relationships can be strained or even awkward at times with multilingual conversations. I stretched the word multilingual here because your mouth could be saying one thing and your body is speaking in an entirely different language.

I was recently introduced to another category of languages that I found to be universal and insightful. This category is called Love languages. The five love languages, as presented by Gary Chapman in The Five Love Languages: How to Express Heartfelt Commitment to Your Mate (1995) expounds upon five ways to give and receive emotional love. They are: receiving gifts, physical touch, acts of service, words of affirmation and quality time. Even though this book refers to couples, on a greater level it spoke to me about relationships. Ships as I call them, take the form of friendships, companionship as well as partnerships, which extend into business. Even though it speaks in terms of the word love, I heard how we want to be treated and how we treat others; how I am valued and how I value others. As leaders, founders and entrepreneurs, we have a responsibility to assure our team that they are valued and add value. Here is a snapshot of the languages from Focus on the Family:

Receiving gifts- value through a visual expression or token that says you are thinking of me

Physical touch-value through physical contact and proximity

Acts of service- value through doing things for me

Words of affirmation-value through words; compliments and showing appreciation

Quality time-value through showing interest and giving your undivided attention

My primary love language is acts of service. When someone takes a task off my list, I feel so appreciated. I don’t need to be touched, talked to or told I’m doing a great job. I recall my staff when I was a financial center manager. They were a remarkable group of loyal employees. I saw their primary love language and how it affected their performance and our ships. The head teller was acts of service. I recall one holiday season she had Gaither tickets and we were not able to get coverage. I ran the vault and a teller window so that she could attend. The ATM teller liked receiving gifts. A cupcake on a busy Friday, which was every Friday, made her day in the midst of long endless lines. The customer service representative was words of affirmation and physical touch. Words of praise made her face shine, not to mention that it got brighter if I touched her shoulder at the same time. The part-time teller was quality time. She liked my undivided attention at times because she was only there a few hours a day. Knowing how people feel valued or loved ranks with knowing their strengths and weaknesses. How this knowledge translates into leadership is quite rewarding for everyone involved.

Acts of kindness extend beyond bonuses and promotions. Sometimes the money dries up and people stay until they retire. Knowing love languages and applying that knowledge in the workplace can increase moral, production and harmony among your staff. I encourage you to take the test at and experience uncharted waters of success on your ships.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *